NATIONAL SANCTIONS SECRETARIAT

Notice under section 18(1)(a) of the United Nations (Financial Prohibitions, Arms Embargo and Travel Ban) Sanctions Act 2019

Amendments of Two Entries on the 1718 Sanctions List concerning the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK)

Notice is hereby given that on **05 January 2024**, the United Nations Security Council Committee established pursuant to resolution 1718 (2006) **enacted the amendments**, specified with strikethrough and underline, in the entries below on its Sanctions List of individuals and entities.

B. Entities and other groups

KPe.007 Name: GENERAL BUREAU OF ATOMIC ENERGY (GBAE)

A.k.a.: General Department of Atomic Energy (GDAE) **F.k.a.:** na **Address:** Haeudong, Pyongchen District, Pyongyang, Democratic People's Republic of Korea **Listed on:** 16 Jul. 2009 (amended on 5 January 2024) **Other information:** The GBAE is responsible for the DPRK's nuclear program, which includes the Yongbyon Nuclear Research Center and its 5 Mwe (25 MWt) plutonium production research reactor, as well as its fuel fabrication and reprocessing facilities. The GBAE has held nuclear-related meetings and discussions with the International Atomic Energy Agency. GBAE is the primary DPRK government agency that oversees nuclear programs, including the operation of the Yongbyon Nuclear Research Center. Changed name as Ministry of Atomic Energy Industry (KPe.027) in 2013.

KPe.021 Name: ACADEMY OF NATIONAL DEFENSE SCIENCE

A.k.a.: naSecond Academy of Natural Sciences (KPe.018) F.k.a.: na Address: Pyongyang, Democratic People's Republic of Korea Listed on: 2 Mar. 2016 (amended on 5 January 2024) Other information: The Academy of National Defense Science is involved in the DPRK's efforts to advance the development of its ballistic missile and nuclear weapons programs.

It is highlighted that the prohibitions, travel ban, and arms embargo under sections 23, 24, 35 and 36 of the United Nations (Financial Prohibitions, Arms Embargo and Travel Ban) Sanctions Act 2019 still apply to the above entries, as amended.

The Consolidated United Nations Security Council Sanctions List is also updated following changes made in the 1718 Sanctions List. An updated version of the Consolidated List is accessible via the following URL: https://www.un.org/securitycouncil/content/un-seconsolidated-list

The public and other stakeholders are urged to regularly check for any updates to the United Nations Sanctions Lists by accessing the above URL and comply with the relevant requirements under the Act.

For any query, please contact the National Sanctions Secretariat as follows:

National Sanctions Secretariat Level 4, New Government Centre Port- Louis

Telephone: 201 1264/201 3886

Fax: 211 9272

Email: nssec@govmu.org

06 January 2024